SunderMad
Why not join in with our small but perfectly formed community?

We are always looking for new members so sign up and join in, its free.

SOME PEOPLE SEEM TO HIT A SNAG WHEN TRYING TO REGISTER! NOT SURE WHY? IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM EMAIL ME AND I WILL SORT IT?
sundamad@aol.com
Sky Sports-SunderMad Exclusive.
Latest topics
» Charlton v Sunderland
Pitch Inspection EmptyToday at 5:05 am by canary-dave

» Come back Theresa
Pitch Inspection EmptyYesterday at 8:08 pm by canary-dave

» Annette's new diet is working
Pitch Inspection Empty2019-05-23, 6:00 pm by canary-dave

» London-Breaking News
Pitch Inspection Empty2019-05-23, 4:51 pm by Sid MCFC

» Stewart Donald, never fails to amaze me.
Pitch Inspection Empty2019-05-23, 3:06 pm by Kipper

» The Rt Hon David Bowen Esquire
Pitch Inspection Empty2019-05-22, 10:55 pm by Hieronymus

» New Home Strip
Pitch Inspection Empty2019-05-22, 10:49 pm by Hieronymus

» New Scotland manager
Pitch Inspection Empty2019-05-22, 6:38 pm by cyprussyd

» Playoff final, a Charlton view
Pitch Inspection Empty2019-05-21, 9:50 am by Vincemac

» You are shit
Pitch Inspection Empty2019-05-20, 9:26 pm by Nostalgic


Pitch Inspection

Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Pitch Inspection

Post  Jerry the Jinx on 2012-08-25, 1:20 pm

For those who haven't set off yet - there's a pitch inspection at our game
Jerry the Jinx
Jerry the Jinx
Admin & Predictor Queen
Admin & Predictor Queen

Posts : 4946
Join date : 2012-08-01
Age : 53
Location : Roker

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  Guest on 2012-08-25, 1:37 pm

Looked pretty wet on Sky standing water on the pitch.
avatar
Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  Guest on 2012-08-25, 1:42 pm

Game off
avatar
Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  Guest on 2012-08-25, 1:47 pm

Feel sorry for all those travelling to the game.
avatar
Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  cyprussyd on 2012-08-25, 2:38 pm

WHAT AN ANTI CLIMAX THAT WAS

________________________________________________________
          My glass is always half full and occasionally over flowing. [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
cyprussyd
cyprussyd
Senior Member(Top Cat)
Senior Member(Top Cat)

Posts : 49127
Join date : 2012-07-31
Age : 70
Location : Durham

http://www.sunderlandmad.com

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  Guest on 2012-08-25, 2:55 pm

Do you think they'll be a bigger crowd on Tuesday night for the morcambe game now?
avatar
Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  cyprussyd on 2012-08-25, 2:56 pm

just bought my ticket

________________________________________________________
          My glass is always half full and occasionally over flowing. [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
cyprussyd
cyprussyd
Senior Member(Top Cat)
Senior Member(Top Cat)

Posts : 49127
Join date : 2012-07-31
Age : 70
Location : Durham

http://www.sunderlandmad.com

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  Hieronymus on 2012-08-25, 3:58 pm

Well that was a waste of time, diesel and £2.80 Tyne Tunnel tolls. Wish I had been paying attention to telly before we left.

It was raining so hard in Sunderland though, compared with Tynemouth, and I am sure they would not have wanted to call the game off if it was at all possible.

One plus is it should help the attendance on Tuesday, but have to feel sorry for Reading fans having such a long wasted journey. Be nice to them if you come across any drowning their sorrows in Sunderland pubs this afternoon!!


Last edited by Hieronymus on 2012-08-25, 4:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
Hieronymus
Hieronymus
Admin Problem Solver
Admin Problem Solver

Posts : 9936
Join date : 2012-08-07
Age : 62

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  Guest on 2012-08-25, 3:58 pm

Just heard Reading boss Brian McDermott on the radio. He reckons it was more to do with the quality of our pitch rather than the rain. Agreed it was unplayable but said it hadn't rained that much and it was more a case that our drainage is rubbish.

Reckon he was bitter over a wasted journey
avatar
Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  cyprussyd on 2012-08-25, 4:42 pm

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

________________________________________________________
          My glass is always half full and occasionally over flowing. [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
cyprussyd
cyprussyd
Senior Member(Top Cat)
Senior Member(Top Cat)

Posts : 49127
Join date : 2012-07-31
Age : 70
Location : Durham

http://www.sunderlandmad.com

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Pitch

Post  Guest on 2012-08-25, 5:25 pm

I bet the ground staff would still have had the sprinklers on before kick off if the match had been on...........................
avatar
Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  cyprussyd on 2012-08-25, 5:27 pm

I would be surprised if there are not questions asked

________________________________________________________
          My glass is always half full and occasionally over flowing. [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
cyprussyd
cyprussyd
Senior Member(Top Cat)
Senior Member(Top Cat)

Posts : 49127
Join date : 2012-07-31
Age : 70
Location : Durham

http://www.sunderlandmad.com

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  MrRAWhite on 2012-08-25, 6:29 pm

Yes it did piss down for hours..And yes I did expect our drainage system to cope with it...I have spoken to SAFC fans who have travelled up from Teeside, York and even bloody Holland (not forgetting the Reading fans), and to be honest it is a damn disgrace that it was called off..
MrRAWhite
MrRAWhite
Senior Member(Top Cat)
Senior Member(Top Cat)

Posts : 4964
Join date : 2012-08-01
Age : 58
Location : Sunderland

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  gil t azell on 2012-08-25, 8:49 pm

In the news for all the right reasons yesterday and all the wrong reasons for today.
Yes the rain was bad but to have a premier league game called off is imo pretty bloody poor.

Was there exceptional rainfall, did our drainage sytem fail, was there another unforseen problem or is it a conspiracy theory to get our players more time together, play a night match etc.

Gutted. Everyone buzzin everybody now deflated.
gil t azell
gil t azell
Senior Member(Top Cat)
Senior Member(Top Cat)

Posts : 5922
Join date : 2012-08-03
Age : 59
Location : Sunderland

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  cyprussyd on 2012-08-25, 8:52 pm

concerts, just a thought

________________________________________________________
          My glass is always half full and occasionally over flowing. [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
cyprussyd
cyprussyd
Senior Member(Top Cat)
Senior Member(Top Cat)

Posts : 49127
Join date : 2012-07-31
Age : 70
Location : Durham

http://www.sunderlandmad.com

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  Silvers on 2012-08-25, 9:44 pm

I'm no engineer but it can't help (in these unprecedented rains ) when the pitch is below ground level !

Rolling Eyes
Silvers
Silvers
Senior Member(Top Cat)
Senior Member(Top Cat)

Posts : 15479
Join date : 2012-08-02

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  cyprussyd on 2012-08-25, 9:46 pm

I can see none of you but I feel your flatness Sad Sad

________________________________________________________
          My glass is always half full and occasionally over flowing. [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
cyprussyd
cyprussyd
Senior Member(Top Cat)
Senior Member(Top Cat)

Posts : 49127
Join date : 2012-07-31
Age : 70
Location : Durham

http://www.sunderlandmad.com

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  Guest on 2012-08-26, 12:49 pm

Prem game called of for rain ffs.

Remeber the night SKP scored against the filth, and that was a bit more than a shower.
avatar
Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  Guest on 2012-08-26, 1:22 pm

Referee Neil Swarbrick deemed the pitch unplayable less than an hour and a half before kick-off following a spell of heavy rain and after consultation with managers Martin O’Neill and McDermott.

But with 11 of 12 local non-league fixtures going ahead across the North East, the decision to call off a Premier League game in August for weather reasons raised eyebrows across the country. McDermott criticised the surface, saying the game would have gone ahead at the Madejski Stadium.

Sunderland have successfully turned the Stadium of Light into a concert venue to increase revenue streams outside of the football season, but having hosted Coldplay, Red Hot Chilli Peppers and Bruce Springsteen in May and June, the pitch could not be re-laid as early as other clubs, which may well have contributed to the drainage problems.

Sunderland chief executive Margaret Byrne said: “We will meet with our pitch consultants immediately to carry out a full analysis of today’s events.”

The club last night said they were not willing to divulge the name of their pitch "consultants", but a club source claimed the concerts were not to blame, insisting they have been holding similar events at the stadium since 2009.


McDermott said: “It was really surprising. It’s a brand new pitch and they’ve obviously got a problem with it.” When asked whether the amount of rain would have led to a postponement at other grounds McDermott added: “I wouldn’t have said so, there must be something else [wrong]. I don’t know what they are going to do there. It’s very unusual to call a game off in August.

“There is no way the game would have been called off at Reading . There is obviously something fundamentally wrong with the pitch there and it’s something for Sunderland to sort out.
“There was no way they could play the game, the water didn’t look like it was going away. I don’t know if they have got a problem with the drains.

“I’m not annoyed, I can’t affect what goes on at another club. Martin O’Neill will be really disappointed because I know he wanted the game to be played and he will look at that from his own club’s perspective.” Although the amount of rain to fall was unusually heavy for the time of year, modern grounds normally have excellent drainage and most would expect a top flight pitch to be able to cope with the amount of rain that fell.
“We spoke to both Martin and Brian about our thought processes, and as soon as we walked out onto the pitch with them they could understand our concerns and the issues with the pitch,” said Swarbrick.
“The pools of water were getting larger and longer, and we agreed straight away that the game should be called off.”
Sunderland, who have another home game against Morecombe in the Capital One Cup on Tuesday night, apologised to fans who travelled before it was called off and said all tickets will be valid for the re-arranged fixture.

O’Neill added: “We trained at the stadium on Thursday afternoon to get a feel for the pitch and it was fantastic. There has been a lot of rain. We arrived here about the same time as Reading and the referee had serious doubts in his mind.

“He just wanted to confirm with myself and Brian McDermott. It’s the right decision to make but it’s a blow to us.”

The Premier League will wait until they receive the referee's report before deciding whether any disciplinary action needs to be taken against Sunderland for the condition of the pitch.

Premier League spokesman Dan Johnson added: "The decision was taken by the referee, in discussion with both managers. He assessed the condition of the playing surface and must have decided it wasn't safe for the players so the only option was to call the game off."
avatar
Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  cyprussyd on 2012-08-26, 1:56 pm

someone should get a bollocking, dont care who just shout at someone, not Marty mind Surprised

________________________________________________________
          My glass is always half full and occasionally over flowing. [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
cyprussyd
cyprussyd
Senior Member(Top Cat)
Senior Member(Top Cat)

Posts : 49127
Join date : 2012-07-31
Age : 70
Location : Durham

http://www.sunderlandmad.com

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  Mackemneil on 2012-08-26, 2:39 pm

It was a bloody long way to drive for a pint in the Grange!!! But, a great buzz in the pub, everybody talking about the signings!!

Disappointing after all of the hype and excitement, but as someone has just said to me ..... we are still unbeaten!!

Gives MON a chance to play all the new boys on Tuesday night and three subs.

Could be another exciting week.
Mackemneil
Mackemneil
MODERATOR
MODERATOR

Posts : 2349
Join date : 2012-08-10
Age : 64
Location : Holme on Spalding Moor, York

http://mackemneil.wordpress.com/

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  cyprussyd on 2012-08-26, 3:32 pm

Mackemneil wrote:It was a bloody long way to drive for a pint in the Grange!!! But, a great buzz in the pub, everybody talking about the signings!!

Disappointing after all of the hype and excitement, but as someone has just said to me ..... we are still unbeaten!!

Gives MON a chance to play all the new boys on Tuesday night and three subs.

Could be another exciting week.

will be

________________________________________________________
          My glass is always half full and occasionally over flowing. [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
cyprussyd
cyprussyd
Senior Member(Top Cat)
Senior Member(Top Cat)

Posts : 49127
Join date : 2012-07-31
Age : 70
Location : Durham

http://www.sunderlandmad.com

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re-Pitch inspection

Post  Guest on 2012-08-26, 11:24 pm

£250 quid for a plane ticket......Oh well shit happens sometimes
avatar
Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  cyprussyd on 2012-08-27, 1:05 am

Norway wrote:£250 quid for a plane ticket......Oh well shit happens sometimes

it doe but it still hurts I reckon..

________________________________________________________
          My glass is always half full and occasionally over flowing. [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.] [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]
cyprussyd
cyprussyd
Senior Member(Top Cat)
Senior Member(Top Cat)

Posts : 49127
Join date : 2012-07-31
Age : 70
Location : Durham

http://www.sunderlandmad.com

Back to top Go down

Pitch Inspection Empty Re: Pitch Inspection

Post  Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum